Let Us Pray

 

“Thank you for my mommy and daddy and Aunty

Help us to have energy as we perform for the graduation (even though this is past!)

In Jesus name Amen.” Tuesday 18th

 

“Thank you for mommy and daddy

When I go to school

Help each other to be kind today

And help us to go on a lovely Mashujaa day holiday

And you may help us go safely home

In Jesus name Amen.” Wednesday 19th

 

“I don’t want to pray today.” Thursday 20th

 

While we are at it, can we pray for mothers?

Most of the times I have zero clue what I am doing, on a wing and a prayer basically.

There are times you just need total silence, to step on the actual floor and not a toy, to not have your favorite magazine glued together even before you halfway done reading. So i tell Djasiri to give me a minute. Two seconds in, “mommy is it a minute already?” I want to scream, ship him somewhere. Does that make me a bad mom?

I am learning not to be solely defined by motherhood, to be a full being, that I am as much human as a man is, that gender roles are bullshit (read untrue, nonsense). To be fine in my imperfections.

Mothers allow me to say this, especially since on this blog I do not plan to teach anyone anything, what would I say even if I wanted to? Just my musings. Learn to breath, otherwise one day someone is going to scratch your car on that yaya junction, and you going to come out, claws aiming for the poor motorists jugular. They will not be able to reason with you, you are going to be screaming at the top of our lungs, quoting the traffic act, refusing to budge till a cop comes, on your phone taking pictures of  invisible dents or scratches. Tempest in a teacup.

To the mothers, the real mashujaas, more so those pulling double duty.

xo, mamadjasiri

PS: Schools are almost out, what activities do you have lined up for the children? Read somewhere you need to let them be idle at times so that they become creative and learn to do things by themselves, might have to, because for two months, what does a mother do?

3 thoughts on “Let Us Pray

  1. Awesome read and kudos to mothers ….I like the “let them be idle to bring out the creativity in them👏🏽👏🏽👏🏽👏🏽

    Like

Leave a Reply

